Resources

General Health Sites

Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/alpha-1-antitrypsin-deficiency 

Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency http://www.alpha1.org

ALS - Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis http://www.alsa.org

Allergy and Asthma Foundation of America http://www.aafa.org

American Academy of Sleep Medicine http://www.aasmnet.org

American Cancer Society http://www.cancer.org

American Heart Association http://www.americanheart.org

American Lung Association http://www.lungusa.org

Centers For Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov

Cleveland Clinic http://my.clevelandclinic.org/health

Drive 4 COPD http:://drive4copd.com

Emphysema http://emphysema.org

E-Medicine Health http://emedicinehealth.com

Family Doctor http://familydoctor.org/

HealthCoach4Me http://healthcoach4me.com

Mayo Clinic http://mayoclinic.com

Medicine Net http://www.medicinenet.com

Medline Plus http://www.medlineplus.gov

MerckEngage http://www.MerckEngage.com

Medscape http://www.medscape.com 

National Cancer Institute http://www.cancer.gov

National Heart Lung and Blood Institute www.nhlbi.nih.gov

National Institute on Arthritis & Musculoskeletal & Skin Diseases http://www.niams.nih.gov

National Institute on Aging http://www.nia.nih.gov

National Library of Medicine http://www.nlm.nih.gov

Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation http://pulmonaryfibrosis.org

Pulmonary Hypertension Association http://www.phassociation.org

Sarcoidosis http://www.stopsarcoidosis.org

WebMD http://www.webmd.com

  

Clinical Trials Sites

Center Watch http://www.centerwatch.com

Clinical Trials http://www.clinicaltrials.gov

 

Patient Assistance Programs

  • DO YOU NEED EXTRA HELP WITH YOUR COPAYS?  Extra help is available through the low-income subsidy (LIS) program - a federally funded program that reduces or eliminates monthly premiums, annual deductibles, and cost sharing for brand and generic drugs.  The LIS program provides assistance, or subsidies, to low-income MEDICARE BENEFICIARIES to help pay for Part D plan costs.  See if you may qualify?
  1. Are you a Medicare beneficiary?
  2. Do you live in 1 of the 50 states or the District of Columbia?
  3. Is your annual income below $17,505, or below $23,595 if you are married?
  4. Do you have resources below $13,440, or below $26,860 if your are married?
  5. If you answered yes to all 4 questions, you may be eligible for extra help.  For more information about the LIS program, visit www.socialsecurity.gov/prescriptionhelp or call the Social Security Administration at 1-800-772-1213.  You can also visit a local state Medical Assistance (Medicaid) office.  Visit www.medicare.gov/contacts, or call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) to get the phone number

    • Please be sure to check the pharmaceutical website for information regarding medicines you have been prescribed.  Most companies have patient assistance programs listed on their websites to help assist with the costs of the medications.  Also make sure you ask if there are any coupons or savings cards available when you are given your prescription.  Our staff is happy to assist you in getting authorization for financial assistance with your medications.
    • AstraZeneca (the maker of Symbicort) offers a Prescription Savings Program for people without insurance, patients with medicare part D, and patients who receive their medications through particpating healthcare facilities.  Please call 1-800-292-6363 or click on the link for further information.  http://www.AZandMe.com.
    • The Glaxo SmithKline group of companies (the maker of Advair) has programs for patients with no prescription coverage as well as for those who can't afford their medications.  Please  click on the link for further information.  http://www.GSKforYou.com
    • Needy Meds http://www.needymeds.org

     

     

        \

                                                                    Prescription Drug Sites

                                                                    Drug Digest http://www.drugdigest.org

                                                                    PDR (Physician's Desk Reference) http://www.pdrhealth.com

                                                                    Taking Meds http://TakingMeds.com

                                                                    The Internet Drug Index http://www.rxlist.com

                                                                     

                                                                    Sleep Disorder Sites

                                                                    American Academy of Sleep Medicine http://www.aasmnet.org

                                                                    Sleep Education http://www.sleepeducation.com